If you know me even the slightest bit, you already know I’m attached at the hip with my smartphone: the LG Optimus T. If you have a smartphone, whether it be droid or iPhone, you probably already know why it’s so important to me. If you don’t, let’s just say it does nearly everything for me. Even though I don’t have a data plan, with the Wi-Fi capability and other key features, the phone makes everything super convenient for me. Need to call out for work? I can just pull up the store’s information on Google, tap the number and I’m automatically connected. Can’t wake up for class? I can set up a math lock on the dismiss button for my alarm clock. Feeling a little bored during my spare time? The Market has over thousands of entertaining applications (apps) to download, ranging from book readers to interactive games. I don’t carry my planner around anymore; my phone’s calendar automatically syncs with Google calendars, leaving me never missing a single event. There’s not a single thing I can’t do on my phone, well besides asking it to produce food, but there are recipe of the day apps I can download! Various car insurance companies have also created apps to unlock your car from a distance, in case you misplace your car keys.

With all the simplicity the smartphone has created, I’m not the only one who can’t go anywhere without it. People of all sizes, colors and especially ages tote around their handy dandy smartphone, but that leads to the question: how old is too young to have a smartphone? With technology just beginning to rise, there’s no doubt that children will be experts when it comes to these things, but I can’t help to find it a little crazy. I remember a couple of years back, the Chocolat phone had come out and it was all the rage. Even though it was nothing compared to the smart phones of today, it was pretty exciting, holding one of the first touch sensors. I was sitting with a classmate looking excitedly at hers, when all of a sudden she gets a text message from her five year old sister, who had a Chocolat as well. I was shocked, because for starters, I still had a lame Motorola Razr, which I paid for, and second, I was just figuring out text (okay not really) and this little girl was a professional. When I was five, I was sitting in a corner reading everything I could find, struggling to pronounce the big words. Kids these days however, are making use of every technology they can get their hands on. My own 6 year old brother takes my iPod touch and my mom’s Samsung Dart in order to play Angry Birds, which he figured out how to activate and now download on other phones on his own, which shows he’s a smart kid! However he’s just starting to learn how to read, whereas I was reading avidly by the age of 3. It’s the year of the smart phones alright, but it seems that the definition of smart has changed over time as well.

