Stephanie Makowski’s recommendation to us to read “It’s Not About You, Facebook.  It’s About Us.” was a great piece that solidified some of the feelings I had already been building up about the popular social networking site.

I, like Jenna Wortham, find myself getting caught up in the emotion of Facebook. It is too often that I find myself upset about something I see posted or trying to decode what someone else means by their most recent status update. This type of Facebook experience has made me really grow to hate the existence of the social network. If I was not on Facebook, I wouldn’t have to consume myself with what people I otherwise would never see’s inner thoughts. On the other hand, if I was not on Facebook I would never know anyone’s birthday and would definitely miss the big party on Saturday. Facebook is how young people communicate and, as a young person, I would be out of the loop on everything.

This ambivalent codependency with Facebook seems to be something that I don’t see myself escaping. On one hand, technology has allowed society to advance to a point where you don’t have to lose contact with someone if you don’t want to. But on the other, technology, especially Facebook, has made it so that you cannot lose contact even if you wanted to! Sure you can block someone you would prefer not to have to deal with, but, having done that, a certain anticipation takes over and we are now embedded with a new level of curiosity that we can’t bring ourselves to block those people.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/02/12/business/facebook-and-its-users-so-mutually-dependent.html?_r=2&ref=technology

