Last year I read this article and this is was what I had to say about it then:

2011: I have to admit that before reading this paper, I was definitely skeptical of blogging as a literary form. I prefer more measured writing and therefore viewed blogging as a threat to traditional writing. However, Sullivan makes a strong case that blogging is not in opposition to traditional writing; it is simply a different mode of expression. In fact, “The triumphalist notion that blogging should somehow replace traditional writing is as foolish as it is pernicious. In some ways, blogging’s gifts to our discourse make the skills of a good traditional writer much more valuable…” Blogging does allow for a more intimate relationship between writer and audience. Most importantly, though, it has the unique ability to capture the present. Of course there are downsides to instantaneous publications, but I now see the tremendous value of blogging.

2012: This I think is the beauty and the evil of the internet and blogging in general. Your ideas live forever. That can be kind of scary, but it can also help track your personal development. I can look at this blog, a year later, and see how much I’ve changed. It took me a very long time to think of blogging as a literary form. I was someone who valued ¬†traditional writing exclusively. Now I want to learn and use every available resource to enhance my writing and get my writing out there (I am currently working on a novel and seeking representation). I’m even a little (though not completely) jealous of the kids in the “Eat Your Vegetables” article; my parents know practically nothing about the growing digital culture. If they did then maybe I would be more advanced in my digital literacy.

