This is in response to the “Eat Your Vegetables, and Don’t Forget To Blog” article.

As I was reading the article, I wasn’t as surprised as I thought I would be; it’s just no astonishment anymore that a modern family’s idea of bonding is via technology – albeit they were a bit on the extreme side in my opinion.  I won’t say that I’m against it entirely, but I also won’t say that I’m entirely for it either.  It’s more “blah” to me but I was surprised by the fact that the kids were initially against it at first but then ended up wrapping themselves up inside the technology blanket.  And, not just that, but that they are trying to construct a future out of it, so it has a progressive element to it, which is certainly a plus.

I do believe that although technology has the amazing art to capture priceless moments, it also has the power to destroy those moments.  Some examples were brought up already in the article – for example the son had mentioned that he tries not to read his mom’s blogs because then they won’t have anything to talk about.  How sad is that?  What about the organic, spontaneous elements of conversation and family bonding? Another examples includes the mom who stops a family member from taking his/her first bite of a meal so she can take a picture of it.  Altogether, these kinds of behaviors interrupt a natural, harmonious flow of genuine family time and bonding.  I know this sounds pretty hippie, but this disruption kind of bothers me.  It’s kine of like how so many pictures of people contain fake, not real, smiles.  This creates this loss of beauty and warmth of simple, but ever so precious, human expression and connection.

That’s what gets to me.

As amazing as technology can be, when you’re interrupted by pictures or just thinking of how you’re going to tweet or post about the latest whatever happy moment, instead of enjoying that moment for what it is, just makes LIFE feel like a commodity.  It’s as though these moments aren’t just between you and the one’s you are closest to, but with people that many times just don’t matter.

So, is it really worth it to go all out with technology?  I don’t think so.  I can understand how some people can value it highly because it’s like a fundamental part of modern life and it’s not that I don’t value it myself, it’s just that I’m more restrictive (in what I feel is done in a constructive way) and natural about it.  I take pictures, but I generally like things to be in a more natural setting, with natural expressions, and nothing forced.  I connect with friends through texting, but I’d rather meet up, hang out, and feel that a phone call is more sincere.  I guess one of the greater issues that I’m trying to prod at is that we are becoming more shallow and inwardly, possibly afraid to connect and socialize face-to-face because a computer screen can hide us better, and all this is what scares me.  I wonder where our generation and future generations are headed.

