I found Cathy Davidson’s ideas about attention blindness so relatable in her article, “Collaborative Learning for the Digital Age.” In class I expressed my allegiance to “Is Google Making Us Stupid?” but Davidson has shown me the value of the way the internet has wired our brains. The way I surf the internet is almost all of the time the same way that I go about solving a problem in person with someone. My thoughts are all connected together just as my Facebook stalking is.

When I surf Facebook and pass the time, I often start with my news feed. I read through the first twenty or so posts and select the name of the person whose post intrigued me the most. Then I browse through their profile for a bit until I find another person’s profile to move onto. When I run out of interesting people to look at, I usually go back to square one and see what new posts have popped up on my news feed. This is how I solve problems.

When I am presented with a problem, my brain immediately associates something I have experienced that is similar to the situation. I then remember that problem and how I solved that one, so I start there. I similarily associate those two situations and attempt to predict what would happen next in the current problem. These associations are just how my Facebook browsing seems to work. This is so interesting because the way my brain works in these capacities has helped me to “see the guerilla.” This rapid association technique has actually broadened my attention span and what I focus on. I can focus on more because of the way I use the internet. The opposite of this is exactly what limits us, just as Davidson suggested, because these types of thinking and interaction allow more creative problem solving methods and more creativity in general. The internet has helped people not only to collaborate more, but to subconciously find new ways to solve the world’s problems.

http://chronicle.com/article/Collaborative-Learning-for-the/128789/

