Before listening to Andy Mills’ podcast, “Slow,” I did not associate podcast and creativity together at all. When I thought of podcasts, I had haunting flashbacks to my general psychology class freshman year. The professor would record himself teaching certain concepts and create podcasts for us to listen to as a supplement. The most creative thing about them were the dry jokes he tried to insert about the prefrontal cortex. Staying up until four in the morning the night before every exam just to make sure that I listened to every single podcast was hardly a creative tool for learning. This was not a supplement or anything additional to lecture, rather it was a recorded lecture due to his inability to cover all of the topics in class.

Andy Mills, on the other hand, took an incredible story and creatively presented it for the listeners. The way he inserted Kohn’s voice into the podcast so it sounded like he told parts of the story made me feel like I was living it with him. When they ate lunch together for the first time, Andy made it feel as if I was the third person sitting at that table. Hearing Kohn explain his emotions himself made me also feel his emotions. I felt for Kohn when he heard his voice for the first time. The magnitude of that for Kohn was so grave that Andy would not have been able to translate that nearly as well if he did not use Kohn’s own words.

Of course there were the special effects Andy included as well that added to the creativity of the podcast, but the most meaningful part was hearing Kohn’s perspective. This raw emotion was just as creative as watching a film or looking at a portrait. Mills’ podcast almost erased my memory of long nights falling asleep to the sound of my professor’s voice and replaced it with a new way of story telling.

