Over Spring break, I went to my younger cousin’s birthday party celebrating her 8th birthday. At her party, were about 20 kids or so around the same age as her. I don’t know about you guys, but when I was 8 years old, I did not have a cell phone, barely knew how to use a computer, and most definitely did not have an iPod/music player, besides my Barbie boombox, of course. These kids all had smart phones and some were even walking around with iPod headphones in their ears. At one point, some kids were gathered around a table comparing smart phones and the music and games they each had on their phones. I thought this whole scenario was ridiculous because they’re just elementary school kids! They should not be comparing cell phones or music, they should be playing hopscotch or tag.

Not to be nostalgic or anything, but when I was 8 years old, I was playing jump rope outside with my friends. In fact, I didn’t even get a cell phone under I was 16 years old and I didn’t have an iPod until I was a junior in high school. I feel as though children these days are getting caught up in technology just like everyone else is today. Children seem to be growing up too quickly and have no room for developing their own imagination because pretty much everything they can imagine can be found on their iPhones or laptops at the click of a button.

Technology today is leaving no room for children to live as children during these modern times. Sure, iPods, smart phones, and computers provide children with educational programs, games, activities, and a means to contact their parents, but how far is too far with this technology? When I was a child, we made up games to keep us entertained because we had much less technology available to us. Bottom line is though, is that technology is taking a front seat in the lives of children day, which is definitely something that we have not seen until now.

