As I type this, I am on Ichat with my friend who is on a plane to Florida, thousands of miles in the air. When he told me that he had internet on the plane I was so confused as to how that was even possible. Apparently, airplanes now have inflight wi-fi devices so people can browse the web or do work while they fly. It’s crazy to think that technology has become such an important part of our lives that we even need it while traveling!

 

According to the article below by the wall street journal, more than 5,000 airlines have wifi on their planes. The hot spot on the plane which transmits to aircell towers on the ground. People use it to kill the boredom of a long flight or to get work done on the go.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970203706604574374571364228440.htm

Likewise, iphones have built in wifi so now we can take the internet wherever we go. As I think about it, I realize how often I use the internet on my iphone while traveling. Technology has no borders in this modern era.

 

