My friend just asked me the other day whether I think buying a Kindle would be worth it or not. As an English major, I think it’s SO worth it because I use my Kindle in my English classes and for my own personal reading; but she just wants to avoid going to the library to check out books to read. Before I bought my Kindle, I wasn’t sure if it would be worth it or not at first. However, I bought it anyway and figured I’d try it out and see how I liked it. I can safely say that it was the best investment I have ever made. 

I don’t mean to sound like a crazy promoter for Amazon or anything, but e-readers in general are really an awesome thing to have. e-Books are so much cheaper and you can literally take them all anywhere you go! So obviously, I told my friend to just go out and buy herself a Kindle and test it out for a week and see how she liked it. My friend went out and bought it this morning and already bought six books, and she has started reading one of them already. She’s even convinced it’s better than her precious i-Phone! 

My point is that e-readers are not only for freak readers like myself that blow through a book in a a few days, but that they can adapt to anyone’s personal needs. I use my Kindle in my English classes because it’s not only lighter than carrying all my books, but it also lets me to highlight specific passages and make notes on them. Even though I’m only discussing a simple Kindle, I think it’s truly amazing how far we’ve come in the portable technology. Cell phones are like computers these days,  tablets are practically technological powerhouses, and e-readers these days give you the best of both worlds. 

