Instagram was just small company with only about a dozen employees. It was founded by two Standford graduates named Kevin Systrom and Mike Krieger. Now, it is worth a billion dollars according to Facebook. The current news is that Facebook bought Instagram for one billion dollars. If you do not know already, Instagram is a social network used for editing and sharing photos. It allows to to take a picture with your smartphone and then edit it by adding borders or changing the style of the photo. It has thirty million users who upload more than five million photos a day. Being that Instagram is a completely mobile, Facebook found it a smart idea to buy it to continue to try to make themselves more mobile. This would cause Facebook to become even more appealing on smartphones. As if Facebook is not popular enough already, their new goal is to become more usable on mobile devices.

Here is a picture of the founder of Instagram: Kevin Systrom

At first, Mr. Zuckerberg reached out to Instagram in early of 2011 and offered to buy them, but Instagram refused. Now that Facebook has officially bought Instagram, people are making comments that they will no longer use Instagram. “So Facebook just bought Instagram,” a Twitter user named Robert Wagner wrote. “In other news, I just quit using Instagram.” I can see how people who dislike Facebook will stop using Istagram because of this new news, but I feel as if Facebook lovers will find this change even more convenient to them. Instagram and Facebook have both decided to keep their companies separate but work together. “It’s important to be clear that Instagram is not going away. We’ll be working with Facebook to evolve Instagram and build the network,” wrote Mr. Systrom in a company blog post. Now, I think that is a good idea. People who do not know of Instagram yet probably will now because it is linked with Facebook.

I am curious as to how many people knew of Instagram already before this news. I feel like most people with iPhones probably would have known about it because they heard about it from another person with an iPhone. I have had the Instagram app on my iPhone for a while now, and I use it occasionally. Sometimes it is cool to be able to edit the photos you take instantly on your smartphone device. I have never actually shared my pictures through Instagram though. I tend to just always upload the pictures onto Facebook. So, I guess to me Facebook and Instagram working together makes sense. What do other people think about this? Do you feel as if Instagram was really worth one billion dollars? Was it a good buy on Facebook’s behalf? I guess we will wait and see if we see any differences at all. What will be the next big thing that Facebook will end up buying? I believe that Facebook will always be trying to be the best form of social networking out there.

For more information on Facebook buying Instagram here is the article…
http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/04/09/facebook-acquires-photo-sharing-service-instagram/?ref=technology

