It seems as though where ever you turn, the presence of Facebook and Twitter are everywhere. We use these social media sites to communicate with friends, colleagues, relatives, or even your pets (some people do make Facebook’s for their pets). Although communicating has been more effortless than before, there is a large issue of sharing information with some people and not with others. Although there are privacy settings available for users to apply to certain material that they share, there is never a full guarantee that those who are not intended to be the audience don’t see what is posted.

New social networks are being introduced that provide networking for specific audience; and a small audience to add. Research shows that the typical human can only hold a certain amount of relationships. This means that the typical Facebook user probably has more friends on Facebook than: a) they can handle and b) they even need. These alternative social networking sites offer a more intimate networking experience for users and allows for more control over who sees what etc. There are specific uses for each site as well, ranging from just corresponding with family, a significant other, or a smaller group of friends.

Path is a site that allows for a user to have up to 150 friends. This makes a user more selective and careful about who they wish to friend on this networking site. It was originally intended for only 40 friends but the maximum has been lifted due to give users a little more freedom. I feel like I would want to use this possibly after college or at a later point in life to correspond with friends that I want to remain in touch with. Facebook allows for me to have communication with the people I went to high school with, plus other people that I may have just briefly encountered. Being able to communicate with them now if I wanted to is not a big deal to me for the time being, however I feel as if when I am older and have a more private life, I will want a networking site that allows for a more intimate interaction with friends and keep it to those that I actually value communication with.

FamilyLeaf is strictly for relatives, although one user can be connected with more than one family. I can see the use of this website the most because it allows for a lot of families, who are live far distances from each other to have strong communication despite possible time zones, etc. For my family, this would come in very useful because I have relatives who live at opposite sides and poles of the country as well as family who live outside of the US. It would keep everyone up to date and informed about any important events or happens in each other’s lives.

I think that the introduction of the social networks mentions and the rest that are featured in this article are very innovative and offer more personalized and private settings for users to communicate with the people they want. I am interested to see if they will become more popular as the years progress.

