It’s that time of the year again. With finals and term paper deadlines looming ahead, I’m constantly asking myself, “Where can I go to study and write my essays?” I don’t know about you, but I’m a very temperamental worker. All of the conditions need to be just right. The temperature should be lingering around 70 degrees Fahrenheit, ideally a slight breeze traveling east, and depending on my mood, background music should be tranquil and low, yet just loud enough to keep out other distracting noises.

As you may have guessed, this wonderful environment is a bit hard to find in our urban New Brunswick area. Especially at the end of the spring semester, when day drinking occurs whenever the sun happens to come out and the temperature climbs above 65. I can’t work in my bedroom because I get too comfortable. Before I know it I’m writing off assignments like an IOU and claiming that I’ll wake up early in the morning to finish it up. I can’t work in the student center because I get distracted by the constant noise and movement (plus it’s a great spot to people watch). The libraries? Forget it. During finals season it gets so full that people end up sitting on the floor and study groups become social hours full of Facebook stalking and joking with friends.

It was on one of these very occasions that I found myself on Stumbleupon in the library “studying” with a group of friends. I was clicking through the random pages when this particular passage caught my eye.

A wise man once said: “We are all at the mercy of our wild monkey minds. Incessantly swinging from branch to branch.” With multiple windows and applications all vying for our attention, we have sadly adapted to the working habits of the computer, and not the other way around.

We want to change this imbalance, and OmmWriter is our humble attempt to recapture what technology has snatched away from us today: our capacity to concentrate.

I glanced up at my browser and noticed that I had seven active tabs open. I then peeked down at my dock and realized that four different applications were also up and running (Mozilla Firefox, iTunes, Microsoft Word, iCal, and Mail). It’s like they were watching my every move. I continued to read through the rest of the website, growing more and more intrigued by this highly revered “Ommwriter.” Supposedly this program worked just like any word processor but when you run it, it takes up the entire screen – eliminating the possibility of you getting distracted by that bouncing iChat icon on your dock. Essentially it provides individuals with a serene writing environment wherever they may be. There are numerous backgrounds, music selections, and keyboard sounds that you can choose from to create your ideal creativity incubator.

I decided to take a chance and download it (since it was free there was little holding me back), just to see what all the fuss was about. I figured it was worth a shot – I had a five page paper due the next day and I had barely started. I opened up the application, plugged in my headphones, and let the creativity unravel. It was love at first type.

From that point on, whenever I knew that I needed to sit down and actually concentrate on writing, I always turned to Ommwriter. Personally, as someone who is frequently on various social media outlets like Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr, I know just how susceptible I am to being distracted on the Internet. I feel like it’s become inherent within our generation – this comfort in technology and constant need to multitask. This is where Ommwriter comes in and helps me most. It shuts me off from the vast world of the Internet and encourages me to focus my attention on directly what’s in front of me (which at the moment, is this blog entry sprawling across a beautiful snowy scene). For those of you who find yourselves being distracted or can’t seem to find your special place to write freely, I highly recommend getting your hands on the perfect portable writing environment. It’s now available for Mac, PC, and iPad – you can download it for free here.

