An article in Engaget described how many people now no longer watch their television on TVs themselves but on their tablets. I don’t know about you but I much prefer my 42 inch High Definition with surround sound TV.

According to the Viacom study, more people are watching their TV shows on a tablet then on their TVs. I personally do not understand this, but is this the direction that television is going in? One can only hope not. Things are getting smaller and smaller now a days and it is only a matter of time before things get so small you can barely see them anymore. I do not even like watching youtube clips on my iPhone because they are so small. I have a nice 27 inch computer screen that I can go home and watch it on. But now things are all about mobility. Being able to take things on the go with you. Being able to use things right then and there when you want to be able to see and use things. When television first was introduced they said that it was the end of the radio but then came satellite radio. Radio just had to adapt to the new times and come up with a new angle on how to keep and attract its personal value to the media consumer. I think that with tablets starting to get much more hype and popularity, television is going to have to do something fast before it loses all its ratings to those of people who want to watch Glee and House on their iPad later in the week when they feel like watching it and not when it is on TV the night the episode aires.

Okay, so I admit that I don’t exactly have time to watch things when they are on TV but that is why there is DVR, so I can go back when I have an extra hour to so to watch the shows that I love and watch them when I can. But I don’t want to watch them on an iPad. There is something about sitting on the couch with the remote in your hand and popcorn or snacks that jus makes the whole experience of watching TV, exactly that, watching TV. Its a gathering of people that you can not really do around a 10 inch screen and still get the same feel from.

The real question comes though, how many people would stop buying a television and just have an iPad? I dont think very many would. It just in the end hurts the ratings of many of the shows on television because now people are watching their favorite shows online now or on their iPad through iTunes. Maybe something will come out of 3D television and have viewers come back to their gathering place and away from their iPads. At least until they come out with iPad 3D.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/21/study-shows-more-people-watch-tv-on-tablets-than-computers/

